Fully Surrendered (Chapter 6)

This content is unique copyrighted material by Jamey Dye and is available in Kendal or paperback through Amazon using this link:

God’s REIGN: The Kingdom Among Us

I publish here to provide my readers with what I believe to be a powerful and useful way to engage God and the Bible. Please do not download and share. I pray you will be blessed and that in the blessing you will be inspired to advance God’s Kingdom through loving neighbor.

Fully Surrendered

For me, the phrase “fully surrendered” conjures up images of martyrs on the mission field, packing their belongings in their coffins as they leave their families at the shore and head off to the jungles to preach the gospel, never expecting to return. In fact, that is my family legacy. Florence inspired all her children to become missionaries or pastors and two of her sons, Cecil and Robert died in Bolivia trying to reach a remote tribe for the gospels. Their death birthed New Tribes Mission (Now Ethnos 360 in the United States).

The Bible records the following exchange between Jesus and Peter on the subject of surrender:

“Then Peter answered, “’Behold, we have left everything and followed you. What then will we have?’ Jesus said to them, ‘Most certainly I tell you that you who have followed me, in the regeneration when the Son of Man will sit on the throne of his glory, you also will sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. Everyone who has left houses, or brothers, or sisters, or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my name’s sake, will receive one hundred times, and will inherit eternal life. But many will be last who are first, and first who are last.’”  Matthew 19:27-30 WEBUS

I grew up with this passage, but it took years to notice the last line in the Matthew version.  For me the last line in this speech emphasizes the importance of living my life surrendered to the Holy Spirit in complete alignment with my understanding of Jesus’ teaching. This is rare, but possible. When we attempt to do Christian service without being surrendered to the Holy Spirit, our sin nature takes over and can cause others to stumble. We can be building out of wood, hay, and stubble which is burned up in the eternal fire (1 Cor. 3:12) and our striving does not achieve the outcomes we imagine it should.

I met my wife’s family a few years after returning from the mission field at a time when I was trying to integrate into Southern California culture.  On the outside, they were a typical Protestant American family.  Her dad, Jerry was a High School math teacher, and his wife La’Don worked as a school secretary. They were politically more liberal than I was comfortable with, but their brand of Christianity was loving, and their home felt special.  When I was there, I felt accepted.  Cheryl’s dad Jerry was active in his church, sang in the choir, and connected with men in his community on a regular basis. He spoke about Jesus as a friend. Cheryl’s parents’ love and good works were attractive to me and began to cause me to revisit my understanding of what it meant to be a Christian. La’Don is a gentle and giving soul. Her house is one of the most comfortable places to stay that you will find. Her house is ordered and good. She gives way beyond her means, and her consistent patient kindness is something my children have learned to relish.

I am incredibly fortunate to have in-laws who lived out what it means to serve the church as Bible study leaders and service workers, and my parents, who were full-time missionaries.  Both are equally valid forms of expressing God’s Kingdom on earth as it is in heaven.  Both serve the mission. Both work towards the goal of reaching every tribe and tongue and nation.  The question each of us should ask ourselves each day is:

Are we living out our Christian life in a way that advances God’s Kingdom on earth as it is in the heavenly realms?

Jesus described the Kingdom as a treasure in a field and a pearl of great price. He said it is worth selling everything to obtain it. Do we really value the Kingdom in that way, or are we like the Church in Laodicea, believing we are rich when we are poor, blind, and naked?  Let us ask. Let us seek. Let us knock. And may the all-powerful God of the universe open the door and dine with us.

Published by jameydye

About the blogger: I was born and raised on the mission field in the Sepik region of Papua New Guinea. The youngest son of Wycliff Bible Translators, Wayne and Sally Dye. I moved to southern California in high school and have lived here ever since. My wife Cheryl and I along with our two children Matthew and Shannon have spent the majority of our lives serving at large seeker sensitive protestant evangelical church in Rancho Cucamonga, California. I am an engineer by profession, and I love God, family, and the outdoors.

Leave a comment