God Is Doing the Work (Chapter 7)


This content is unique copyrighted material by Jamey Dye and is available in Kendal or paperback through Amazon using this link:

God’s REIGN: The Kingdom Among Us

I publish here to provide my readers with what I believe to be a powerful and useful way to engage God and the Bible. Please do not download and share. I pray you will be blessed and that in the blessing, you will be inspired to advance God’s Kingdom through loving neighbor.


Once we surrender and begin to work in partnership with the Holy Spirit in his Kingdom work, we can shift into feeling a sense of burden – a feeling of personal pride and ownership. A belief that it is all on us to accomplish God’s purpose. This mindset can drift into an unholy reliance on self, rooted in pride and self-importance. God is the one doing the work in the world, not us. If He calls us to do something, He has gone ahead of us and prepared the way. If people come to Christ from our influence, it is because the Holy Spirit has touched them.

We are just humble obedient servants doing what is asked of us.  Jesus captures this idea in a story given at the end of a teaching session on faith and forgiveness.  Here is the story:

“Suppose one of you has a servant plowing or looking after the sheep. Will he say to the servant when he comes in from the field, ‘Come along now and sit down to eat’? Won’t he rather say, ‘Prepare my supper, get yourself ready and wait on me while I eat and drink; after that you may eat and drink’? Will he thank the servant because he did what he was told to do? So you also, when you have done everything you were told to do, should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done our duty.’” Luke 17:7-10 NLT

This humble perspective will carry us to greatness in the Kingdom of God and protect us from stumbling from pride.

Published by jameydye

About the blogger: I was born and raised on the mission field in the Sepik region of Papua New Guinea. The youngest son of Wycliff Bible Translators, Wayne and Sally Dye. I moved to southern California in high school and have lived here ever since. My wife Cheryl and I along with our two children Matthew and Shannon have spent the majority of our lives serving at large seeker sensitive protestant evangelical church in Rancho Cucamonga, California. I am an engineer by profession, and I love God, family, and the outdoors.

Leave a comment